Thursday, June 13, 2013

Where does it all come from?

I’m asked that question all the time. Some of it comes from memory, some of it comes to me the instant I close my eyes and let my fingers glide across the keyboard. Yes, I do tend to type with my eyes closed. What better way to describe something than to visualize the scene playing out before you? And while we don’t have time to cover every character, today I will touch on the ones I’m asked about most frequently.

Years ago, I interned in breed management on a reining horse ranch back in New Jersey. While the ranch no longer exists, it was state-of-the-art at the time and gave me the idea for the Bridle Dance Ranch in the Ramblewood series. Equine artificial insemination fascinated me and Lexi Lawson, Ramblewood’s equine vet was born.

Who are the Langtry brothers? They are a combination of every sexy, confident, red-blooded American male I have come across. But I do have to admit, the basic idea of them probably originated with the Dukes of Hazzard. Who could resist those Duke boys?

Everyone wants to know who Mable Promise is. Mable is my all-time favorite character of any book I’ve read. She even beats out Scarlett O’Hara and I didn’t think anyone would ever touch that golden spot. Mable is the most honest, kind-hearted, mom-to-everyone, gospel loving woman you will ever meet. She’s also the first person to set you straight and put the fear of God into you if you dare walk across her clean kitchen floor with your mud cake boots. She’s a blend of many people I’ve known and a woman with a story of her own.

People always ask what town I patterned Ramblewood, Texas after. It’s a combination of all the small towns I’ve traveled to and through over the years. It sits in the heart of Hill Country where family and community come together as one. Ramblewood’s not perfect by any means. People have some deeply buried secrets, which you’ll start to see in BLAME IT ON THE RODEO.

When I started writing BETTING ON TEXAS, I knew Ramblewood would never just be one book. I had originally planned a four book series, featuring the Langtry brothers, but as BETTING ON TEXAS ended, a few other characters came to the foreground and begged me to tell their stories. Where will end? It may not – Some towns live in our hearts forever as I hope Ramblewood will for my readers.

So when I’m asked, where does it all come from? I have to reply…from the heart. In writing this series, I hoped to create a place where the readers want to stop and grab a bite to eat at The Magpie or take a canoe ride down Cooter Creek before heading to Slater’s Mill for a beer and a night of dancing. Ramblewood lives in the heart of all of us looking for a warm place to call home.

August brings about the release of HOME TO THE COWBOY, the second book in the Ramblewood series. Tess Dalton is home for a visit, but you know how those Langtry men can put a wrinkle in a woman’s plans, and Cole is no exception! So if you find yourself driving through town, or browsing the bookstore aisles, pay a visit to the folks in Ramblewood and catch up on your favorites. I’ll see you there!

Amanda Renee
HOME TO THE COWBOY (August 2013)
BLAME IT ON THE RODEO (February 2014)


Anonymous said...

I liked Betting on Texas and can't wait for Home to the Cowboy. It's on my to be bought list.

Amanda Renée said...

Thank you, Cathy!!

Anonymous said...

Nice Blog and fund characters. Keep up the good work.

linda s said...

Dukes of Hazard??? lol. I love it and I'm enjoying your series.

Tammy Yenalavitch said...

Looking forward to your next book. I love that you write from your heart.