Thursday, January 05, 2012

Wave if you love cowboys

Happy 2012, everyone! I’ve been gone awhile, but I’m now writing novels for Harlequin American again, and am so glad to be here. My new series, which debuts in February, centers around a fictional ranching town in Eastern Montana. (If you like ranchers and cowboys, raise your hand.) I’ve never written western-theme romances and am enjoying learning about ranch lifeboth from the western books written by my Harlequin American friends, and from my research.

In my research, I discovered a fascinating non-fiction book, The Cowboy Way, written by David McCumber, a journalist and magazine editor.




What a fascinating read! McCumber wanted to live the cowboy life and took a year off from his regular job to do just that. Some of the information in the book is a bit too gritty to put into a romance novel. (Such as the part about bulls who broke their, shall we say male apparatus, due to enthusiasm and an inaccurate aim! Not exactly romantic, is it?)

I hate to leave you with that image in your brain, so I’ll end with something far more pleasanta few cowboy quotes and sayings I found online (http://www.coolnsmart.com/cowboy_quotes/). There are no names attributed to these, but they mostly show good, common sense. (Except for the first one, which is just plain true…)

“Whoever said a horse was dumb, was dumb.”

“The quickest way to double your money is to fold it over and put it back into your pocket.”

“Nobody ever drowned in his own sweat.”

If you get to thinking you’re a person of some influence, try ordering somebody else’s dog around.”

Great words to mull over, don’t you think?

In that vein, are there any common sense quotes that stick in your mind? Something your mom or grandma or maybe your favorite uncle often says/said? If so, feel free to share the wisdom.

Here’s to cowboys, common sense, and romance!

Best wishes from your cowboy fantasy to mine,

Ann

www.annroth.net

4 comments:

linda s said...

welcome back! I read a lot of your books in the past and remember them fondly. I look forward to your nrxt book.

Linda Warren said...

Ann,
Welcome back! I'm waving. Love cowboys and I write about them a lot. I actually wrote about the bull incident in Caitlyn's Prize. Yes, it does happen.

Ann Roth said...

Thanks, Linda S. I appreciate the kind words.

And Linda Warren, I know you love cowboys. Heck, you're married to one. Smile. I had no idea, though, that you'd written about a bull incident!

Tammy Yenalavitch said...

I'm waving too. I love Cowboys.

Happy New Year